From PathfinderWiki
A necromancer wields a magic staff.
(Magic item)
Aura (1E) Varies
Caster Level (1E) Varies
Item Level (2E) Varies
Type Staff
Slot (1E) None
Usage (2E) Held in 1 hand
Images of staves

Source: Core Rulebook, pg(s). 491 (1E)
Core Rulebook, pg(s). 592 (2E)
For other meanings of "Staff", please see Staff (disambiguation).

A magical staff is a shaft or pole capable of storing spells. Staves can hold many types of spells, which makes them distinct from wands, and might also bestow passive effects or abilities.[2][3]


With most staves, spells are activated by holding them in at least one hand or appendage and invoking their power. Staves can be used by most people with experience wielding magical items, but a trained spellcaster coaxes more potent effects from them.[2]

Spells can be prepared for a staff daily.[2]

As a weapon

Staves can be wielded in a similar manner as a quarterstaff or club, with either one or two hands.[3]


Staves typically measure 4 to 7 feet in length, 2 to 3 inches in thickness, and 5 pounds in weight. Most are wooden with a gem, device, or metal caps on one or both ends and carved or runic embellishments, but can be made of bone, metal, glass, or other materials.[2]

Known staves

See also: Category:Staves

Known staves include:


  1. A personal staff optionally has a trait for one magic tradition, instead of the magical trait, if the staff is fully steeped in that tradition and contains spells only from that tradition's spell list.(Logan Bonner, Mark Seifter, et al. (2021). Secrets of Magic, p. 167. Paizo Inc. ISBN 978-1-64078-345-4)
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 Jason Bulmahn et al. (2009). Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook (1E), p. 491. Paizo Publishing, LLC. ISBN 978-1-60125-150-3
  3. 3.0 3.1 Logan Bonner et al. (2019). Pathfinder Core Rulebook, p. 592. Paizo Inc. ISBN 978-1-64078-168-9